Can I disclaim an interest in a property in Mississippi?

I was left property 5 years ago when I was minor and am now 20 years old.  I don’t want the property and want to disclaim it.  Can I still disclaim it?

You cannot disclaim  when you were a minor yourself. You can generally disclaim you interest in the property after your twenty-first birthday. No act or conduct prior to your twenty-first birthday, other than a written acceptance, shall constitute an acceptance of any portion of the interest. So you can disclaim your interest in the property now.


If you view this content and need to ask a related question or need services that relate to this question, Contact me.

All content is for informational purposes only. It is also only intended to relate to Mississippi Estate Planning Law.  If other states are mentioned, they are mentioned as an example only. No legal advice is provided in this content. Laws change so you need to check for any updates by current laws in Mississippi.